Chronicle

Chronik der Studio Hamburg Gruppe

2014
In order to improve transparency, in the future, Studio Berlin Adlershof will be split into two companies: Studio Berlin Adlershof (SBA), with interior and non-fictional post production and Studio Berlin Broadcast (SBB) with exterior broadcasting and programme management.

On July 1st, Johannes Zuell will chair the Studio Hamburg board, assited by Holding Managing Director, Dr. Kurt Bellmann.

The Hamburg Housing Association (Der Wohnungsverein Hamburg von 1902 eG) and the Hamburg Teachers Building Society (Hamburger Lehrer-Baugenossenschaft) acquired a roughly 10.000 square metre plot of land on the Studio Hamburg grounds. Here, 150 publicly funded apartments for lower and middle-income tenants are to be built. Construction is to begin in 2015.

The Studio Hamburg workshops will no longer be longer known as Studio Hamburg MCI, but Studio Hamburg Atelier. Joern Denneborg remains head of the workshops and Andreas Walter remains managing director of Studio Hamburg Atelier.

2013
Dr. Kurt Bellmann and Andrea Bruns, managing director of NDR Media, will manage Studio Hamburg on an interim basis.

Chairman of Studio Hamburg Management, Professor Carl Bergengruen, is leaving Studio Hamburg, in order to manage MFG Medien und Filmgesellschaft in Baden-Wuerttemberg. 

Holding CEO, Dr Robin Houcken, is leaving Studio Hamburg of his own accord, to take on new tasks.

Studio Hamburg re-launches Atelier 3 (Studio 3) for virtual studio productions. Commercial and fiction producers benefit mainly from this. The 1000 square-metre, so-called A3, is 69 metres long and has an 8-metre tall, u-shaped trench. This makes the white, permanent studio background the biggest trench in Germany.

2012
Dr. Kurt Bellmann joins the management at Studio Hamburg GmbH. Among other things, he assumed responsibility for the finance department.
Dr. Robin Houcken becomes the management vice chairman.

2011
After 31 years Dr. Martin Willich withdraws from executive management. Prof. Carl Bergengruen becomes new chairman of executive management.

2010
Studio Hamburg and Pinewood Studios announce a Joint Venture to encourage more International feature film production in Germany. The newly created “Pinewood Studio Berlin Film Services” will allow filmmakers to benefit from Studio Hamburg’s production and studio services in Berlin Adlershof and Hamburg, as well as from Pinewood Studios’ extensive experience gained by being at the forefront of the creative industries for nearly 75 years. 

2009
Completion of the second large-area studio H in Berlin Adlershof. SBA is technical service provider for the regional broadcasting networks RTL Nord, Sat. 1 Norddeutschland, Hamburg 1 and TV Berlin. 

2008
The limited-liability company Berlin-Brandenburg Media GmbH is renamed Studio Hamburg Berlin Brandenburg GmbH and receives dual headquarters in Berlin and Hamburg. The 30 per cent stake in the TVN GROUP is sold. The mobile broadcasting vans from the Studio Berlin fleet are on assignment once again at the European Soccer Championship 2008 and, as was the case at the World Cup, are commissioned with broadcasting the Finals. 

2007
The know-how for series produced on an ‘industrialised’ scale by the Studio Hamburg Group is being clustered at MULTIMEDIA, now renamed Studio Hamburg Serienwerft GmbH. The subsidiary of this ‘series production forge’ based in Lüneburg, Germany produces the telenovela “Rote Rosen” for the ARD network. A Sunday talk show starring Anne Will is produced in Berlin-Adlershof. 

2006
Studio Berlin broadcasts 11 matches in the soccer World Cup worldwide from Germany. Commencement of operation of Ü6, an HDTV mobile broadcasting van. 

2005
Hamburg studio operations are restructured: The firms Postproduction GmbH and Filmtechnik GmbH are spun off from Atelierbetriebs GmbH, all studio and technology operations in Hamburg and Berlin are put under the control of unified management. 

2004
Acquisition of all shares in Fernsehzentrum Babelsberg, a televsion centre in Potsdam. The regional show “17:30 Sat.1 Regional” for Hamburg and Schleswig-Holstein from Sat.1 North Germany moves to the studio lot. 

2003
“die medienakademie”, a private school for media, opens its gates on the grounds of Studio Hamburg. Studio Hamburg takes over all shares in the firms CINECENTRUM and MULTIMEDIA. 

2002
Commencement of operation of Ü5, a digital mobile broadcasting van. Studio Hamburg builds up its equity shareholding in POLYPHON Film- und Fernsehgesellschaft mbH to 90 per cent. 

2000
Modernisation of the workshops and construction of Atelier 1 on the Studio Hamburg lot. The corporate group’s mobile broadcasting van activities are clustered within the subsidiary Studio Berlin Mobil GmbH (SBM). Additional pieces of property are purchased in Berlin-Adlershof, renovation of the 8-storey office building is begun, and Studio G, a large-area studio, is put into operation. 

1999
Sat.1 relocates its sports programme to Berlin. Premiere relocates its Pay-TV offer to Munich. Studio Hamburg produces the soccer Champions League for TM3 in Hamburg. Axel Springer Verlag, a publishing company, acquires a stake in Studio Hamburg Produktion. 

1998
Purchase of the 6-part studio complex and adjacent grounds in Berlin-Adlershof. MCI is responsible for the technical setup and installation of the new Sat.1 studio complex in Berlin. 

1997
A holding structure is created by spinning off the studio division from Studio Hamburg Atelier GmbH: The company is renamed Studio Hamburg GmbH. It takes on the tasks of a corporate group holding company while studio operations are set forth in the newly founded Studio Hamburg Atelierbetriebs GmbH. The “Studio Hamburg Nachwuchspreis”, a prize towards promoting up-and-coming talent in German film, is awarded for the first time. 

1996
Together with the firm DREFA, MCI creates Media & Communication Systems GmbH (MCS), a limited-liability company which provides technical stewardship for the state broadcasting administration centre of MDR in Erfurt, a Central German broadcaster, and for Kinderkanal, a channel for children. 

1995
Completion of new construction and renovation activities (House G, film canteen, parking garage) in Tonndorf. Founding of the Fernsehzentrum Babelsberg, a television centre, together with Studio Babelsberg GmbH, a limited-liability film production company, and Ostdeutscher Rundfunk Brandenburg, an East German broadcaster. 

1994
Premiere moves into the new broadcasting centre on the grounds and relocates its corporate headquarters to Studio Hamburg. 

1993
Founding of the subsidiary Studio Berlin in Berlin-Adlershof. RTL Nord airs its 3 North German regional programmes from a new broadcasting studio using digital technology. For the first time in Germany, 3 shows are broadcast live simultaneously from one studio. 

1992
Spin-off of the dubbing department: Studio Hamburg Synchron GmbH, a limited-liability company, is subsequently among the most renowned German operations for synchronisation and dubbing. In Studio M, Sat.1 goes on air with the soccer show “ran”.

1990
Premiere moves into office space on the studio grounds and makes use of the technical facilities at Studio Hamburg. 

1989
RTL concentrates its North German regional productions at Studio Hamburg. Among others, over the following years Sat.1, RTL 2, Premiere and TM3 also utilise the studios. Studio Hamburg assumes a 30 per cent stake in the TVN Hannover Group. 

1988
Spin-off of the production department into the limited-liability company Studio Hamburg Produktion für Film & Fernsehen GmbH, today’s Studio Hamburg Produktion Gruppe GmbH. The company is one of the most successful German producers of TV series. Studio Hamburg produces for all of the well-known German broadcasting networks. 

1987
Inauguration of House N, the new corner edifice at which the entire stationary video technology on the studio lot is going to be concentrated. 

1986
The division Scenery and Equipment (today’s MCI Workshops) creates stage scenery for the most well-known German musicals and is responsible for the artistically designed interior furnishings at museums, media centres, event venues and restaurant operations. 

1985
Commencement of extensive construction activities towards modernising the studio lot, inter alia installation of a ring mains system for optical fibre cabling. Equity shareholding in the MULTIMEDIA production group. 

1984
Reorganisation of the management structure: Dr Martin Willich becomes chairman of executive management. 

1980
Gyula Trebitsch withdraws from executive management. The company is renamed Studio Hamburg Atelier GmbH. Purchase of the buildings occupied and technology held by NDR to date, and an increase of share capital to DM 43.6m. 

1977
Founding of Studio Hamburg Media Consult International (MCI) GmbH, a limited-liability consulting subsidiary. Over subsequent years MCI evolves into one of the largest German system houses for the planning and furnishing of television and radio studios. 

1971
Takeover of all shares in the company by NWF, which is now sole shareholder of Studio Hamburg. 

1965
POLYPHON Film- und Fernsehgesellschaft mbH, a limited-liability production company for film and TV, is founded together with Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft. In the ensuing period POLYPHON produces many successful television series. 

1960
Renaming of Real-Film Atelierbetriebsgesellschaft mbH to Studio Hamburg Atelierbetriebsgesellschaft mbH. 

1960
The company takes over the entire studio complex from Real-Film GmbH. 

1959
Gyula Trebitsch founds Real-Film Atelierbetriebsgesellschaft mbH, a limited-liability film production company, together with NWF, an advertising subsidiary of Norddeutscher Rundfunk, a North German state broadcaster. 

1948
Beginning of the establishment of an own studio operation facility in Hamburg-Tonndorf. Over the next years more than 60 artistically and commercially successful German films and diverse cultural and documentary films are produced. 

1947
Founding of Real-Film GmbH, a limited-liability film production company.

Chronik der Studio Hamburg Gruppe

Chronik der Studio Hamburg Gruppe

2016
Die Studio Hamburg Produktion Gruppe GmbH  gründet die Studio Hamburg UK (ltd.) mit Sitz in London.

Studio Hamburg übernimmt alle Anteile der DVD-Vertriebstochter Studio Hamburg Enterprises (SHE) und verschmilzt das Unternehmen mit der Studio Hamburg Distribution & Marketing (SHDM).

Studio Hamburg Synchron eröffnet eine neue Studio-Dependance in Berlin.

2015
Die Studio Hamburg Produktion Gruppe GmbH (SHPG) beteiligt sich mit 50% an der ECO Media TV-Produktion GmbH.

Studio Hamburg übernimmt die Sabelli Film- und Fernsehproduktion GmbH. Geschäftsführer wird Tammo Steinmetz.

Studio Berlin erweitert die AÜ-Kapazitäten und erwirbt den Übertragungswagen Ü8 von der MMG GmbH aus Leipzig.

Die Studio Hamburg GmbH übernimmt das operative Geschäft der Park Studios GmbH aus Potsdam.

Christian Rönsch wird alleiniger Geschäftsführer der Studio Hamburg Enterprises GmbH.

Dagmar Rosenbauer wird alleinige Geschäftsführerin der Produktionsfirma Cinecentrum GmbH mit Sitz in Berlin, Hamburg und Hannover.

2014
Johannes Züll übernimmt zum 1. Juli den Vorsitz der Geschäftsführung von Studio Hamburg. Ihm zur Seite steht Holding-Geschäftsführer Dr. Kurt Bellmann.

Der Wohnungsverein Hamburg von 1902 eG und die Hamburger Lehrer-Baugenossenschaft erwerben ein circa 10.000 Quadratmeter umfassendes Areal auf dem Grundstück von Studio Hamburg. Öffentlich gefördert entstehen dort etwa 150 Wohnungen für Mieter mit mittlerem und kleinem Einkommen. Baubeginn: Frühjahr 2015.

Die Studio Hamburg Produktion Gruppe GmbH (SHPG) beteiligt sich an der Ulmen Television GmbH und der Ulmen Film GmbH.

Die Werkstätten von Studio Hamburg firmieren unter Studio Hamburg Atelier und nicht mehr unter Studio Hamburg MCI. Jörn Denneborg bleibt wie bisher Leiter der Werkstätten. Geschäftsführer von Studio Hamburg Atelier ist weiterhin Andreas Walter.

2013
Dr. Kurt Bellmann führt gemeinsam mit Andrea Bruns, Geschäftsführerin NDR Media, interimsmäßig die Geschäfte von Studio Hamburg.

Der Vorsitzende der Studio Hamburg-Geschäftsführung  Prof. Carl Bergengruen verlässt Studio Hamburg, um zukünftig die MFG Medien- und Filmgesellschaft in Baden Württemberg zu leiten.

Holding-Geschäftsführer Dr. Robin Houcken verlässt Studio Hamburg auf eigenen Wunsch, um sich einer neuen Aufgabe zu widmen

Studio Hamburg relauncht das Atelier 3 für virtuelle Studioproduktionen. Davon profitieren vor allem Werbefilm- und Fiction-Produzenten. Die A3 hat eine Größe von 1.000 Quadratmetern und verfügt über eine 69 Meter lange und 8 Meter hohe U-förmige Hohlkehle. Der weiße, fest installierte Studiohintergrund ist damit die größte Hohlkehle in Deutschland.

2012
Eintritt Dr. Kurt Bellmann in die Geschäftsführung der Studio Hamburg GmbH. Er übernimmt unter anderem das Ressort Finanzen.

Dr. Robin Houcken wird zum stellvertretenden Vorsitzenden der Geschäftsführung ernannt.

2011
Dr. Martin Willich verabschiedet sich nach fast 31 Jahren bei Studio Hamburg aus seiner Funktion als Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung. Sein Nachfolger ist Prof. Carl Bergengruen, der das Amt am 1. Februar 2011 übernimmt.

2010
Studio Hamburg gründet mit der britischen Pinewood Studios Group das Joint Venture Pinewood Studio Berlin Film Services, um gemeinsam internationale Kinofilme in Deutschland durchzuführen.

2009
Fertigstellung des zweiten Großstudios H in Berlin Adlershof. Die SBA ist technischer Dienstleister für die Regionalsender RTL Nord, Sat. 1 Norddeutschland, Hamburg 1 und TV Berlin.

2008
Die Berlin-Brandenburg Media GmbH wird umfirmiert in Studio Hamburg Berlin Brandenburg GmbH und erhält einen doppelten Firmensitz in Berlin und Hamburg. Die 30-prozentige Beteiligung an der TVN GROUP wird verkauft. Die Übertragungswagen der Studio Berlin-Flotte sind bei der Fußball EM 2008 wieder im Einsatz und werden wie bei der WM mit der Übertragung des Endspiels beauftragt.

2007
In der Multimedia, die jetzt als Studio Hamburg Serienwerft GmbH firmiert, wird das Know-how für industriell gefertigte Serien der Studio Hamburg Gruppe gebündelt. Die Lüneburger Tochtergesellschaft der Serienwerft produziert für die ARD die Telenovela „Rote Rosen“. In Berlin Adlershof wird die sonntägliche Talkshow mit Anne Will produziert.

2006
Studio Berlin überträgt weltweit elf Spiele der Fußball-WM aus Deutschland. Inbetriebnahme des HDTV- Übertragungswagens Ü6.

2005
Der Hamburger Atelierbetrieb wird neu strukturiert: Ausgliederung der Postproduction GmbH und der Filmtechnik GmbH aus der Atelierbetriebs GmbH und Unterstellung aller Atelier- und Technikbetriebe in Hamburg und Berlin unter einheitlicher Führung.

2004
Erwerb aller Anteile am Fernsehzentrum Babelsberg in Potsdam. Das Regionalprogramm „17:30 Sat.1 Regional“ für Hamburg und Schleswig-Holstein zieht auf das Studio-Gelände.

2003
Die private Medienschule „die medienakademie“ öffnet ihre Pforten auf dem Studio Hamburg-Gelände. Studio Hamburg übernimmt alle Anteile an der Cinecentrum und der Multimedia.

2002
Inbetriebnahme des digitalen Übertragungswagens Ü5. Studio Hamburg stockt die Beteiligung an der POLYPHON Film- und Fernsehgesellschaft mbH auf 90 Prozent auf.

2000
Modernisierung der Werkstätten und Bau des Atelier 1 auf dem Studio Hamburg Gelände. Die Ü-Wagen Aktivitäten der Firmengruppe werden in der Tochterfirma Studio Berlin Mobil (SBM) GmbH gebündelt. In Adlershof werden weitere Grundstücke gekauft, der Umbau des achtgeschossigen Bürohauses begonnen und das Großraumstudio G in Betrieb genommen.

1999
Sat.1 verlegt sein Sportprogramm nach Berlin. Premiere verlegt sein Pay-TV-Angebot nach München. Studio Hamburg produziert in Hamburg für TM3 die Fußball Champions League. Der Axel Springer Verlag beteiligt sich an der Studio Hamburg Produktion.

1998
Kauf des sechsteiligen Studiokomplexes und des angrenzenden Geländes in Berlin-Adlershof. MCI ist für die technische Einrichtung des neuen Studiokomplexes von Sat.1 in Berlin verantwortlich.

1997
Durch die Ausgliederung des Atelierbereichs aus der Studio Hamburg Atelier GmbH wird eine Holdingstruktur geschaffen: Die Gesellschaft wird in Studio Hamburg GmbH umfirmiert und übernimmt die Aufgaben einer Konzern-Holdinggesellschaft, während der Atelierbetrieb in der neu gegründeten Studio Hamburg Atelierbetriebs GmbH fortgeführt wird. Zum ersten Mal wird der „Studio Hamburg Nachwuchspreis“ zur Förderung des deutschen Filmnachwuchses verliehen.

1996
MCI gründet zusammen mit der DREFA die Media & Communication Systems (MCS) GmbH, die das Landesfunkhaus des MDR in Erfurt und den Kinderkanal technisch betreut.

1995
Fertigstellung der Neu- und Umbaumaßnahmen (Haus G, Filmkantine, Parkhaus) in Tonndorf. Gründung des Fernsehzentrums Babelsberg zusammen mit der Studio Babelsberg GmbH und dem Ostdeutschen Rundfunk Brandenburg.

1994
Premiere bezieht das neue Sendezentrum auf dem Gelände und verlegt seinen Firmensitz zu Studio Hamburg.

1993
Gründung der Tochterfirma Studio Berlin in Berlin-Adlershof. RTL Nord sendet seine drei norddeutschen Regionalprogramme aus einem neuen Sendestudio mit digitaler Technik. Zum ersten Mal werden in Deutschland drei Sendungen gleichzeitig aus einem Studio live gesendet.

1992
Ausgliederung der Synchronabteilung: die Studio Hamburg Synchron GmbH gehört in der Folge zu den renommiertesten deutschen Synchronbetrieben. Sat.1 geht im Studio M mit der Fußballshow „ran“ auf Sendung.

1990
Premiere bezieht Räume auf dem Ateliergelände und nutzt die technischen Einrichtungen von Studio Hamburg.

1989
RTL konzentriert seine norddeutschen Regionalproduktionen bei Studio Hamburg. In den Folgejahren nutzen unter anderem auch Sat.1, RTL 2, Premiere und TM3 die Studios. Studio Hamburg beteiligt sich an der TVN Hannover Gruppe mit 30 Prozent.

1988
Ausgliederung der Produktionsabteilung in die Studio Hamburg Produktion für Film & Fernsehen GmbH, heute Studio Hamburg Produktion Gruppe GmbH. Die Firma gehört zu den erfolgreichsten deutschen Produzenten von TV-Reihen und -Serien und produziert für alle namhaften deutschen Sender.

1987
Einweihung der neuen Eckbebauung Haus N, in der die gesamte stationäre Videotechnik des Ateliergeländes konzentriert wird.

1986
Der Bereich Ausstattung (heute Werkstätten) erstellt Bühnendekorationen für die bekanntesten deutschen Musicalproduktionen und verantwortet künstlerisch gestaltete Innenausbauten in Museen, Medienzentren, Veranstaltungsräumen und Restaurationsbetrieben.

1985
Beginn umfangreicher Baumaßnahmen zur Modernisierung des Studiogeländes, u. a. Einrichtung einer Ringleitung für Glasfaserverkabelung. Beteiligung an der MULTIMEDIA Produktionsgruppe.

1984
Neuorganisation der Führungsstruktur: Dr. Martin Willich wird Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung.

1980
Gyula Trebitsch scheidet aus der Geschäftsführung aus. Claus Kühn, Helga Mauersberger und Dr. Martin Willich bilden die Führungsriege. Die Gesellschaft wird in Studio Hamburg Atelier GmbH umfirmiert. Kauf der bisher vom NDR belegten Gebäude und Technik und Erhöhung des Stammkapitals auf DM 43,6 Mio.

1977
Gründung der Consulting-Tochter Studio Hamburg Media Consult International (MCI) GmbH. Die MCI entwickelt sich in den Folgejahren zu einem der größten deutschen Systemhäuser für die Planung und technische Einrichtung von Fernseh- und Hörfunkstudios.

1971
Übernahme aller Gesellschafteranteile durch die NWF, die nunmehr Alleingesellschafterin von Studio Hamburg ist.

1965
Zusammen mit der Deutschen Grammophon Gesellschaft wird die POLYPHON Film- und Fernsehgesellschaft mbH gegründet. Die POLYPHON produziert in der Folgezeit viele erfolgreiche Fernsehserien und Reihen.

1963
Claus Kühn wird Geschäftsführer bei Studio Hamburg.

1960
Umfirmierung der Real-Film Atelierbetriebsgesellschaft mbH in Studio Hamburg Atelierbetriebsgesellschaft mbH.

1960
Die Gesellschaft übernimmt von der Real-Film GmbH den gesamten Atelierkomplex.

1959
Gyula Trebitsch gründet zusammen mit der Werbetochtergesellschaft NWF des Norddeutschen Rundfunks die Real-Film Atelierbetriebsgesellschaft mbH.

1948
Beginn des Aufbaus eines eigenen Atelierbetriebs in Hamburg-Tonndorf. In den nächsten Jahren werden mehr als 60 künstlerisch und kommerziell erfolgreiche deutsche sowie diverse Kultur- und Dokumentarfilme produziert.

1947
Gründung der Filmproduktionsgesellschaft Real-Film GmbH durch Walter Koppel und Gyula Trebitsch. Am 01. März 1947 fiel die erste Klappe für die Real-Film Produktion Nr.1, „Arche Nora“.